Old Slave Mart

The Old Slave Mart shown here was opened in 1852. It was in this building where slaves were auctioned off after being inspected in the courtyard. In 1879 the bars were removed and the building was made into a two story living quarters. In 1938 it was opened as the Slave Mart Museum, making it the oldest black museum of slave artifacts in America.